The Glaciers, the Breezy Flowery Meadow!

My name is Nget Kan Davith from Cambodia. Here is my blog about yesterday’s activities at the Glacier National Park and the Tippi camping stay, 15th July.

Oh, Glaciers Day! I was expecting it to be extremely cold as everyone had been reminded to bring warm jackets along, but it turned out differently from what I thought as there were little snow caps on the mountain with the falls. It was not disappointing though, as we finally got to have delicious Vietnamese lunch right after we got there, which was the most rewarding part of the tour, I think. Nice sunny day shaded on. We began our walking along the scenic trails and baby falls though it was tiring but fascinating as we saw white goats along the Glacier meadow. The most stunning part about it was how the goat could climb up the sharp high cliffs, which was unbelievable. Yet, making sense of this, Dr. Len referred it to their surviving skills from other wild predators. It was logical, yet surprising at the same time as I constantly looked up at the steep cliffs.

All the way up to the end point of the trails which is the balcony leaning off the cliff to the wide blue creeks and a bunch of mountains with another glacier behind, it was where I had pictures of myself and some cool selfies with my fellows and mentors, though it was drizzling cold. Oh, on the way back, I heard they see the grizzly bear which was rare as to what was told by Dr. Len who has been to the areas often.

What impressed me the most during the glacier tour were the sufficient power and water supply to the main facility up there on the Glacier National Park, which is convenient to the tourists as there are water fountain and cozy bathrooms. On top of that, the way up to the park is scary but safe in a way that the passengers could stop by for some scenic captures anytime they want to, which is so different from that in my country where the road to beautiful resort like that is not well constructed as it might inflict harms anytime. Second, it amazed me how they preserve the wildlife and nature. We were having lunch with the squirrel, which most Americans refer it to as Rats than to what I suppose it to be since they are not risky to us. In addition, there were wild goats, birds and especially the grizzly bear that I missed seeing. Hence, I suddenly realized the concept of pure wilderness that restricts itself from sophisticated developments of any kinds. I was caught up.

Second, upon the short briefing presentation of Dr. Len concerning the progression of the Glacier National Park, it got me pondering of the complexity, manners and ethical sensibility to tackle off the problems. As a saying goes, “I say let the world go to hell, but I should have my tea,” I was thinking of an idea of reserving individual interests than the atrocity of nature. As reflected, there have been lots of conservation debate going on between United States and Canada concerning the environmental impacts at the Glaciers. Likewise, countries in Mekong Basin are also facing the same concerns as they stay connected to each other. The dam implementation is considered one of the most concerned topics recently.

Last, the gripping Glaciers day was over, and our last station was the Tippi camping where the native Americans people set up the cone-shaped tents for the tourists’ stay. A moment after we got here to the dinner time, we received good retreat as all of our favorite food, u could name it, were served, which was one of the best part to wrap up the day’s tour. Oh, and we have wifi, too. Thank god for all these goodness. Additionally, Nick also told us that ‘most Americans have not been here yet’, so it made me feel special in this sense. Hence, it has enriched the way I perceive the way people conserve their culture and pass it on from one to another, which is incredible to me. I am so thankful to see these.

Leave a Reply

